Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Welch named founding vice chairman of energy and environment caucus

January 27, 2009
Press Release

Sustainable Energy and Environment Coalition will work to create jobs by building a new, green economy

WASHINGTON, DC - Rep. Peter Welch announced Tuesday the formation of the Sustainable Energy and Environment Coalition (SEEC), an action-based caucus in the U.S. House devoted to building the economy by focusing on progressive energy and environmental policies. Welch will serve as the 2009 Vice Chairman for Outreach.

The group's founding mission is to "advance policies that promote clean energy technology innovation and domestic manufacturing, develop renewable energy resources, create green collar jobs throughout the product supply-chain, help arrest global warming and protect our nation's clean air, water and natural environment." 

Welch will take a leadership role in the caucus, providing outreach to other members and caucuses in the U.S. House.

"At a time when we face enormous economic and environmental challenges, we have a window of opportunity to address both problems through aggressive action," said Welch, a member of the House Committee on Energy and Commerce. "This group brings together leaders from around the country who realize that in great challenge lies great opportunity.  Together, we will fight for a 21st century energy policy to combat global warming and build a stronger economy."

The group recently met with Climate Czar Carol Browner to discuss energy and climate policy.  Additionally, the SEEC has been working to strengthen green technology provisions in the American Economic Recovery and Reinvestment Plan.

The SEEC has thirty-five founding members. The group is chaired by Reps. Jay Inslee (D-Wash) and Steve Israel (D-N.Y.).

The 2009 vice-chairs for the SEEC are:

  • Rep. Paul Tonko (D-N.Y.),Vice-Chair for Speakers
  • Rep. Peter Welch (D-Vt.), Vice-Chair for Outreach
  • Rep. Jim Langevin (D-R.I.), Vice-Chair for Membership
  • Rep. Jared Polis (D-Colo.), Vice-Chair Whip